Welcome to the website of the Cornwall County Chess Association

Minutes of the Management Committee Meeting held at the Kernow Club, Truro, on Thursday, 9th July 2015

Printable version here
H. Brown, C. Constable, J. Constable, I. George, D. J. Jenkins, D. King, R. Kneebone (chairman), J. Menadue
Apologies for absence
B. Childs, D. R. Jenkins, R. Nancarrow, M. Pilling, R. Smith
Chairman's Opening Remarks

The chairman welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Minutes of 2014 Meeting
The minutes of the previous meeting, having been circulated beforehand, were signed by the chairman

Entries for the County Shield have been received from Bude, Camborne, Newquay, Penwith. There is the possibility of a joint club in the Truro/Falmouth area, if this happens then there could possibly be two teams from the combined club. If not, there will just be a Truro team (subject to an organiser being found).

The Roberts Cup will be split into East and West sections, with five teams in each section playing a double-round all-play-all. Winners and runners-up of each section will contest semi-finals (winner of each section v runner-up of other section) and a final. Entries have been received from Bude, Calstock, Lerryn, Liskeard (two teams) in the East section and Camborne, Newquay, Penwith. There will be a Falmouth team; there might be a Truro team.

The Betty Roberts Cup (“500 League”) will be contested as a double-round all-play-all. Entries have been received from Calstock, Falmouth, Lerryn, Liskeard, and a Camborne-Penwith combination (two teams). Truro may enter a team (West section).

Knock-Out Cups
The draws were made for the A. W. Busby and Roger Grime Cups and pairings are as follows (home team first):
A. W. Busby Cup:
Preliminary round (1) Truro (H) v Camborne; (2) Liskeard (H) v Penwith
Semi-final SF1 Falmouth (H) v Truro or Camborne; SF2 Liskeard or Penwith (H) v Newquay
Final Winner SF1 (H) v Winner SF2
Roger Grime Cup:
Preliminary round (1) Camborne (H) v Penwith; (2) Newquay (H) v Falmouth
Semi-final SF1: Truro (H) v Camborne or Penwith; SF2 Liskeard (H) v Newquay or Falmouth
Final Winner SF1 v Winner SF2

It was agreed that the membership fees payable by the clubs for team competitions should be at the following rates:

  • County Shield and Roberts Cup: £28 per team, which includes entry into the A. W. Busby Cup and Roger Grime Cup respectively
  • 500 League: £23 per team
Grand Prix

D. J commented that players reported enjoying the Grand Prix during the 2014–15 season. I. G. plans to run a Grand Prix in a similar format for 2015–16.

Annual Congress

There was discussion about the congress, whether it should be open to players from outside of Cornwall, or whether there should be a closed congress to contest the Emigrant and Falmouth Cups in addition to an open congress. John and Christine Constable confirmed that they are willing in principle to run the congress(es). It was decided that I.G. would co-ordinate an e-mail consultation open to all players in the county.

Any Other Business
I. G. suggested that clubs should check the ECF membership status of their players and arrange any necessary enrolments to be made before the end of the season in order to avoid incurring unnecessary game fees.
There being no other business, the chairman declared the meeting closed at 21:03.
Hon. Secretary