Welcome to the website of the Cornwall County Chess Association

Minutes of the Management Committee Meeting held at Bickford Smith Bowling Club, Tuckingmill on Monday 25th June 2018

Printable version here
H. Brown, S. Fanning, I. George, J. James, D. King, D. R. Jenkins, R. Kneebone, J. Menadue, R. Nancarrow, R. Smith
Apologies for absence
J. Constable, P. James
Team Competitions 2018/19 Season

County Shield

Entries from Carrick (2 teams), Camborne, Newquay, Penwith, Liskeard.
It was agreed that this be a double-round all-play-all.

Roberts Cup

Entries from Bude, Calstock, Carrick (3 teams), Camborne, Newquay, Liskeard, Penwith.

The sections to be: WEST: Penwith, Camborne, Carrick 1; CENTRAL: Carrick 1 and 2, Newquay; EAST: Bude Calstock, Liskeard.

Carrick’s entry of a third team is dependent on eligibility of players being confirmed when the new grading list is published. If they enter only 2 teams, there will be 2 sections: WEST: Penwith, Camborne, Carrick 1 and 2; EAST: Newquay, Bude Calstock, Liskeard.

It was agreed that in either case each team would play against teams in its section twice and against the other teams once, giving a total of 10 matches each.

500 League

Entries from Bude, Calstock, Carrick (2 teams), Camborne, Lerryn, Penwith, Liskeard.

It was agreed that this be played in two regional sections with the winners of each section contesting a play-off to determine the competition winners. EAST: Bude, Calstock, Lerryn, Liskeard. WEST: Camborne, Carrick (2) Penwith.

Knock-Out Cups
The draws for the A. W. Busby and Roger Grime Cups were made on 3rd July 2018.
A. W. Busby Cup:
Preliminary round (1) Newquay (H) v Penwith; (2) Calstock (H) v Carrick
Semi-final SF1 Camborne (H) v Calstock or Carrick; SF2 Liskeard (H) v Newquay or Penwith
Final Winner SF1 v Winner SF2
Roger Grime Cup:
Preliminary round Calstock (H) v Liskeard
Semi-final SF1: Calstock or Liskeard (H) v Penwith; SF2 Bude (H) v Carrick
Final Winner SF1 v Winner SF2
Any Other Business
There being no other business, the chairman declared the meeting closed at 21:15.
IAN GEORGE (Secretary)
3rd July 2018