Welcome to the website of the Cornwall County Chess Association

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at Truro Royal British Legion on Thursday 13th June 2013

Printable version here
R. Kneebone (chairman), I. George, D. King, I. Lewis, S. Bartlett, A. Barkhuysen, S. Fanning, R. Smith, DJ Jenkins, H. Brown, C. Sellwood, J. Menadue, S. Cooke, R. Nancarrow, G Crouse
Apologies for absence
M. Hassall, K. Brewer, G. Trudeau, P. Williams, C. Webb, M. Pilling, DR Jenkins, A. Queen, DR Jenkins, I Renshaw, M Hill
Chairman's welcome
The chairman welcomed all to the meeting and called for a minute's silence to mark the passing of Chris Reeves of the Truro Club.
Secretary and grader's report (Ian George)
As grader he reported that the grading season now ran from July to June with a deadline of 20th July for submission of data to the ECF. This would be done after the cup final
As secretary he reported that the registration process had gone very smoothly with nearly 100% of players joining the scheme. He thanked all the club secretaries for their support and efficiency.
The Annual Kerrier Cup rapidplay tournament was held in October at Truro Conservative Club and resulted in a tie for first place between Simon Bartlett (Newquay), Grant Healey (Falmouth) and Jeremy Menadue (Truro).
Treasurer's report (Mark Hassall)
In the treasurer's absence the secretary presented the provisional accounts of the 2012/2013 season. These were approved.
League secretary's report (Ian George)
The league secretary reported that the County Shield had been won by Camborne with 23 points out of 24. Newquay and Truro were runners up. St Austell won the Roberts Cup with Camborne as runners-up.
The new 550 League was still in progress at the date of the meeting. Note: Falmouth and Truro tied for first place.
The final of the A. W. Busby Cup would be contested by Newquay and Camborne on 24th June. The final was won by Camborne. Falmouth won the Roger Grime Trophy, defeating Liskeard in the final.
Congress organiser's report (Anton Barkhuysen)
The annual congress was held at Stithians Village Hall with Anton Barkhuysen as organiser and Ian George as controller. The venue continued to be well received by the players and it was intended to return there for the 2014 event. The meeting thanked Mr Barkhuysen for securing this venue and for organising a successful event.
The winner of the Emigrant cup, and new Cornwall champion, was Mark Watkins (Camborne), 37 yeras after his previous appearance (and victory). The Falmouth Cup was won by Ian Renshaw (Falmouth).
Match captain's report (Anton Barkhuysen)
The match captain reported losses against Hampshire, Gloucestershire, Devon and Somerset He thanked all who played and particularly those who provided transport. He also appealed for volunteers to play in the team in order to avoid defaulting boards.
Election of officers
President Robin Kneebone
Secretary David J Jenkins
Treasurer Ian George
League Secretary Ian George
Match Captain David R Jenkins
Junior Secretary Robin Kneebone
Congress Organiser TBA
Grader Philip Williams
WECU Delegate Robin Kneebone
Cornwall Junior Chess
The president outlined his plans for the re-launch of Cornwall Junior Chess and a publicity campaign directed to generating interest in chess in the county and attracting new players to participate in the Association's activities. His proposals were greeted enthusiastically by the members and he undertook to announce further details at the forthcoming management committee meeting.
On a motion proposed by the new treasurer it was agreed that the junior secretary be added to the list of members of the Executive Sub-Committee.
It was agreed that consideration of fees for the 2013/14 season be deferred to the forthcoming management committee meeting.
Any Other Business
The secretary announced that the pre-season Management Sub-committee meeting would be held on Thursday 4th July at Truro Royal British Legion commencing at 7 o'clock p.m.
There being no other business, the chairman declared the meeting closed.