Welcome to the website of the Cornwall County Chess Association
Meeting Night
Venue (Map)
Jubilee Hall
TR20 8ES
Tel: 01736 740774
Roger Grey
David J Jenkins
Tel: 01736 796550
County Shield
Team Captain
Percy Gill
Tel:01736 740757
Fixtures and results
W 18/09/2017 3 - 2 Liskeard
L 18/10/2017 1½ - 3½ Falmouth
D 08/11/2017 2½ - 2½ Truro
W 28/11/2017 4 - 1 Newquay
W 09/01/2018 4 - 1 Camborne
H 13/02/2018 Tue Liskeard
H 27/02/2018 Tue Falmouth
A 19/03/2018 Mon Newquay
A 13/04/2018 Fri Camborne
H 15/05/2018 Tue Truro
Roberts Cup

Penwith are not entering a team in the Roberts Cup for 2017/18

500 League
Team Captain
John James
Tel: 01736 362676
Fixtures and results
L 12/09/2017 3½ - 4½ Falmouth
W 03/10/2017 4½ - 3½ Truro
D 17/10/2017 4 - 4 Camborne
W 15/11/2017 5½ - 2½ Falmouth
W 03/01/2017 5 - 3 Truro
A 26/01/2017 Fri Camborne
A. W. Busby Cup
Team Captain
Percy Gill
Tel:01736 740757
Fixtures and results
W 01/11/2017 4½ - ½ Calstock
A 22/01/2018 Mon Liskeard
Roger Grime Cup (U135)
Richard Humpleby
Tel: 07887 369422
Fixtures and results
W 07/11/2017 3 - 1 Calstock
W 18/12/2017 3 - 1 Liskeard
A 15/02/2018 Thu Bude
Club Championship

This will be played over the evenings of Tuesday 23rd January (rounds 1 and 2) 30th January (rounds 3 and 4) and 6th February (rounds 5 and 6) at Ludgvan Village Hall commencing at 7.30 p.m. It is open to all ECF members.

Entries to David Jenkins on or before Sunday 21st January. Contact details are here

Full competition details here

David Jenkins

About the club

We meet on Tuesdays at Ludgvan Community Centre 7:15 - 10:30 p.m. Junior coaching sessions start at 6.00 p.m. We welcome new members from beginners to experienced players.

For players seeking competitive, rated games, we enter teams in most of the county league and cup competitions. We hold a club championship.. If you prefer to play casual games in a friendly atmosphere, there should be ample opportunity to do so on club nights and we hold several informal quickplay tournaments during the season.

Membership fee £20 per year* (Juniors free) plus £2 per evening. If you would like to come along for a couple of sessions before deciding to join, you are welcome to do so.

Our Facebook page is Here

For more information please contact:

David Jenkins 01736 796550
Percy Gill 01736 740757

(* Club membership does not include ECF membership for players taking part in formal competitive rated games. Cost of ECF membership is from £15 per year.)


Ludgvan Community Centre is easy to find. Take the turn off the A30 (signposted Ludgvan Leaze) between Crowlas and the Long Rock/Marazion roundabout and proceed along the lane past Cornwall Farmers, and the venue is about 200 yards further along on the right, just after the Ludgvan Lions football field. Our room is the directly in front of you on entering the front door. Facilities are good. There’s a free car park, and a bus stop within 50 metres (route 17B, 18 and others).

Junior Chess

We regret that, due to lack of interest this season, we have taken the decision to stop running the junior coaching sessions on alternate Tuesdays


We thank Sue Rowe at Ludgvan Community Centre for her support and encouragement to meet at the venue in Ludgvan.


The latest league results and current league tables are here

Board scores of all matches are here

Last updated 10/1/2018

Tuesday Night Calendar
16/1 Club meeting
23/1 Club championship (Rds. 1 and 2)
30/1 Club championship (Rds. 3 and 4)
6/2 Club championship (Rds. 5 and 6)
13/2 Shield Liskeard
27/2 Shield Falmouth
13/3 Club meeting
27/3 Club meeting
15/5 Shield Truro

Graded players
  JUL 2015 JAN 2016
  SP QP    
Mark Watkins 178 180(E)    
David Saqui 169 174    
Percy Gill 144 132    
Jan Rodrigo 141 130    
David Jenkins 139 144    
Kenton Richings 129 128    
James Galloway 121 124 (E)    
Richard Humpleby 114 114    
Harvey Richings 111 104    
Ben Jago 96 109    
Alan Madsen 82 72 (E)    
Jon Cochrane 79 (E) 79 (E)    
John James 68 (E) 66    

Club champions
2016/17 Mark Watkins
Club Links