CHESS CORNWALL
Welcome to the website of the Cornwall County Chess Association
Meeting Night
Wednesdays
Venue
Carnon Downs Village Hall
Tregye Road
Carnon Downs
Truro
TR3 6GH
Secretary
Robin Kneebone
Tel: 01209 418412 (h) 07531 543651 (m)
Email: chesscornwall@gmail.com
Treasurer
Hugh Brown
Tel: 07976 294798
Email: hughgb76@gmail.com
County Shield (Falmouth)
Team Captain
Robin Kneebone
Tel: 01209 418412 (h) 07531 543651 (m)
Email: chesscornwall@gmail.com
Fixtures and results
W 18/09/2019 3 - 2 Bude
W 09/10/2019 3½ - 1½ Truro
W 16/10/2019 3½ - 1½ Newquay
A 28/10/2019 Mon Calstock *
H 13/11/2019 Wed Penzance
A 20/12/2019 Fri Camborne
A 06/01/2020 Mon Liskeard
A 20/01/2020 Mon Newquay
H 12/02/2020 Wed Truro
H 19/02/2020 Wed Calstock
A 24/03/2020 Tue Penzance
H 15/04/2020 Wed Liskeard
A 07/05/2020 Thu Bude *
H 20/05/2020 Wed Camborne
  * indicates fixtures to be played at Liskeard
County Shield (Truro)
Team Captain
Jeremy Menadue
Tel: 01872 274580
Email: jmenadue@googlemail.com
Fixtures and results
L 09/10/2019 1½ - 3½ Falmouth
A 28/10/2019 Mon Newquay
A 13/11/2019 Mon Bude *
H 04/12/2019 Wed Liskeard
H 08/01/2020 Wed Penzance
H 15/01/2020 Wed Calstock
A 24/01/2020 Fri Camborne
A 12/02/2020 Wed Falmouth
H 18/03/2020 Wed Newquay
H 25/03/2020 Wed Bude
A 14/04/2020 Tue Penzance
A 27/04/2020 Mon Calstock *
A 18/05/2020 Mon Liskeard
H 27/05/2020 Wed Camborne
  * indicates fixtures to be played at Liskeard
Roberts Cup (Truro and Falmouth Kings)
Team Captain
Ian Renshaw
Tel: 01326 373348
Email: ianrenshaw@hotmail.co.uk
Fixtures and results
D 11/09/2019 2 - 2 Rooks
A 25/11/2019 Mon Liskeard
H 15/01/2020 Thu Lerryn
A 31/01/2020 Fri Camborne
A 27/02/2020 Thu Calstock*
H 01/04/2020 Wed Redruth
H 13/05/2020 Wed Bude
H 27/05/2020 Wed Newquay
  * indicates fixtures to be played at Liskeard
Roberts Cup (Truro and Falmouth Rooks)
Team Captain
Robin Kneebone
Tel: 01209 418412 (h) 07531 543651 (m)
Email: chesscornwall@gmail.com
Fixtures and results
D 11/09/2019 2 - 2 Kings
L 18/09/2019 1½ - 2½ Calstock
W 16/10/2019 4 - 0 Liskeard
A 29/11/2019 Fri Camborne
A 30/01/2020 Thu Bude *
A 26/02/2020 Wed Lerryn
A 30/03/2020 Mon Newquay
H 22/04/2020 Wed Redruth
  * indicates fixtures to be played at Liskeard
500 League (Bishops)
Team Captain
Boris Kostadinov
Tel: 07854 206781
Email: bkostadinov97@gmail.com
Fixtures and results
A 06/11/2019 Wed Knights
H 18/12/2019 Wed Camborne
A 03/01/2020 Fri Redruth
H 22/01/2020 Wed Knights
A 06/03/2020 Fri Camborne
H 08/04/2020 Wed Redruth
500 League (Knights)
Team Captain
Bryan Jones
Tel: 01209 216812 (h) 07977 593637 (m)
Email: bryart49@hotmail.com
Fixtures and results
H 06/11/2019 Wed Bishops
A 08/11/2019 Fri Camborne
H 18/12/2019 Wed Redruth
A 22/01/2020 Wed Bishops
A 06/03/2020 Fri Redruth
H 08/04/2020 Wed Camborne
A. W. Busby Cup
Team Captain
Jeremy Menadue
Tel: 01872 274580
Email: jmenadue@googlemail.com
Fixtures and results
H 23/10/19 Wed Calstock
Roger Grime Cup
Team Captain
TBA
Fixtures and results
H 20/11/2019 Wed Liskeard
Club Championship

The draw for round 1 of the 2019/20 club championship is shown in the right hand column.

  1. If there are any changes in the data shown for you in the list which I have sent you by email, please let me know and I’ll circulate them.
  2. A list of the rules is here. It includes the play-by dates for each round as shown in the Friday night calendar.
  3. Please contact your opponent as soon as possible to arrange a date for your game and email me the date straight away.
  4. Don’t forget to tell me the result as soon as the game has been played so that I can record it and put it on the website. I don't want to have to chase people for results in order to start the next round.
  5. Round 1 is to be played on or before October 30th. Please contact your opponent immediately to arrange your game. When you have a confirmed date, please let me know straight away so that it can be shown on this page.

Robin Kneebone

About Truro and Falmouth

We especially invite juniors as well as university students. Most Wednesdays our programme starts from 6.30pm with coaching and friendly games 6.35-7.20 pm, quiet practice and matches 7.30 pm onwards.

We invite newcomers and improvers, young and not-so-young. Coaching will be provided by experienced coaches Jeremy Menadue and Robin Kneebone. There is no extra fee for this.

Membership fee £25 per year plus £3 per evening (concessions for juniors, FXU students), or £50 single payment for a whole season (concessions whole season £25).

Club brochure here

Facebook page here

For more information please contact:

Robin Kneebone 01209 418412 (h) 07531 543651 (m)
chesscornwall@gmail.com
Hugh Brown 07976 294798
hughgb76@gmail.com
Venue

Carnon Downs Village Hall is easy to find. It’s in the village: turn off the main A39 Truro to Falmouth road. The main village road is Forth Coth and Tregye Road is a turning off that. The Hall is just at the turning. Our room is the Meeting Room, on the right inside the front door. Facilities are good. There’s a free car park, and a bus stop within 50 metres (route U1 and others).

See www.carnondownsvillagehall.org/contact/


Last updated 17/10/2019

Team Competition Results
League tables
Board scores (all competitions)
Wednesday Night Calendar
2019
23/10 Busby Calstock
30/10 Final date for club championship, Rd.1
6/11 500 Knights v Bishops
13/11 Shield Falmouth v Penzance
20/11 Grime Liskeard
27/11 Final date for club championship, Rd.2
04/12 Shield Truro v Liskeard
11/12 To be arranged
18/12 500 Knights v Redruth
18/12 500 Bishops v Camborne
2020
8/1 Shield Truro v Penzance
15/1 Shield Truro v Calstock
15/1 Roberts Kings v Lerryn
22/2 500 Bishops v Knights
29/1 No meeting
31/1 Final date for club championship, Rd.3
5/2 No meeting
12/2 Shield Falmouth v Truro
19/2 Shield Falmouth v Calstock
26/2 No meeting
4/3 No meeting
11/3 Final date for club championship, Rd.4
18/3 Shield Truro v Newquay
25/3 Shield Truro v Bude
1/4 Roberts Kings v Redruth
8/4 500 Knights v Camborne
8/4 500 Bishops v Redruth
15/4 Shield Falmouth v Liskeard
22/4 Roberts Rooks v Redruth
29/4 No meeting
6/5 No meeting
13/5 Roberts Kings v Bude
20/5 Final date for club championship, Rd.5
27/5 Shield Truro v Camborne
27/5 Roberts Kings v Newquay
3/6 To be arranged

Club Championship

Round 1 Draw

The draw for round 1 is shown below. The final date for playing the round is 30th October, 2019. Please contact your opponent as soon as possible to arrange your game. When you have a confirmed date, please let me know straight away so that it can be shown on this page.

Ian Renshaw (0) 30/10 Ian George (0)
Robin Kneebone (0) 30/10 Hugh Brown (0)
Peter Doubleday (0) 30/10 Adam Hussain (0)
Toby Willis (0) 18/10 Myla Hussain (0)
Ivan Gerasimenko (0) 30/10 Marcus Pilling (0)
Colin Sellwood (0) 30/10 Maria Yevdokimova (0)
Ornela Mallick (0) 23/10 Bryan Jones (0)
Boris Kostadinov (0) 30/10 Asher Hussain (0)
Sam Edwards (0) 1 - 0 Bye  

Entries and Grades

Championship

1 Robin Kneebone 164
2 Ian George 164
3 Adam Hussain 158
4 Toby Willis 153
5 Marcus Pilling 145
6 Colin Sellwood 142
7 Bryan Jones 122
8 Boris Kostadinov 121
9 Ian Renshaw 109
10 Hugh Brown 87
11 Sam Edwards 86
12 Peter Doubleday 79
13 Myla Hussain 54
14 Ivan Gerasimenko 50
15 Maria Yevdokimova 50
16 Ornela Mallick 30
17 Asher Hussain 30
Graded players (2019/20)
  SP QP
Jeremy Menadue (SR) 187 183
Grant Healey (SR) 167 187
Robin Kneebone (SR) 164 159
Adam Hussain (R) 158 156
Toby Willis 153 138
Richard Stephens 149 158
Marcus Pilling 145 139
Dominic Mayhew 142 97
Bryan Jones 122 101
Boris Kostadinov 121 134
Ian Renshaw 109 98
Siobhan Rowland 89 89
Guy Bolton 87 102
Hugh Brown 87 92
Sam Edwards 86 54
Peter Doubleday 79 79
Myla Hussain 54 63
Ivan Gerasimenko 50 71
Tamara Burgess 43 43
Ornela Mallick 30 50
S = Nominated for the County Shield
R = Nominated for the Roberts Cup

Club Links