CHESS CORNWALL
Welcome to the website of the Cornwall County Chess Association
Meeting Night
Wednesdays
Venue
Carnon Downs Village Hall
Tregye Road
Carnon Downs
Truro
TR3 6GH
Secretary
Robin Kneebone
Tel: 01872 858602 (h) 07531 543651 (m)
Email: chesscornwall@gmail.com
Treasurer
Hugh Brown
Tel: 07976 294798
Email: hughgb76@gmail.com
County Shield (Falmouth)
Team Captain
Ian Renshaw
Tel: 01326 373348
Email: ianrenshaw@hotmail.co.uk
Fixtures and results
L 19/09/2018 ½ - 4½ Camborne
H 17/10/2018 Wed Calstock
A 14/11/2018 Wed Truro
A 10/12/2018 Mon Newquay
H 09/01/2019 Wed Liskeard
A 08/02/2019 Fri Camborne
H 20/03/2019 Wed Truro
A 01/04/2019 Mon Liskeard
H 15/05/2019 Wed Newquay
A 28/05/2019 Tue Calstock
County Shield (Truro)
Team Captain
Jeremy Menadue
Tel: 01872 274580
Email: jmenadue@googlemail.com
Fixtures and results
W 10/10/2018 4 - 1 Liskeard
H 24/10/2018 Wed Newquay
H 14/11/2018 Wed Falmouth
H 12/12/2018 Wed Camborne
A 08/01/2019 Tue Calstock
A 04/02/22019 Mon Liskeard
A 20/03/2019 Wed Falmouth
H 03/04/2019 Wed Calstock
A 17/05/2019 Fri Camborne
A 20/05/2019 Mon Newquay
Roberts Cup (Falmouth)
Team Captain
Bryan Jones
Tel: 01209 216812 (h) 07977 593637 (m)
Email: bryart49@hotmail.com
Fixtures and results
D 12/09/2018 2 - 2 Truro
W 12/10/2018 2½ - 1½ Redruth
H 31/10/2018 Wed Redruth
H 07/11/2018 Wed Camborne
A 05/12/2018 Wed Calstock
H 23/01/2019 Wed Newquay
A 14/03/2019 Thu Bude
H 10/04/2019 Wed Truro
A 26/04/2019 Fri Camborne
H 08/05/2019 Wed Liskeard
Roberts Cup (Truro)
Team Captain
Robin Kneebone
Tel: 01872 858602 (h) 07531 543651 (m)
Email: chesscornwall@gmail.com
Fixtures and results
D 12/09/2018 2 - 2 Falmouth
H 31/10/2018 Wed Camborne
A 26/11/2018 Mon Newquay
H 05/12/2018 Wed Redruth
A 17/12/2018 Mon Liskeard
A 25/01/2019 Fri Camborne
H 13/03/2019 Wed Calstock
A 22/03/2019 Fri Redruth
A 10/04/2019 Wed Falmouth
H 08/05/2019 Wed Bude
500 League (Falmouth)
Team Captain
Toby Willis
Tel: 07957 652150
Email: tobywillis1998@gmail.com
Fixtures and results
L 05/09/2018 1 - 7 Truro
W 28/09/2018 5 - 3 Camborne
H 21/11/2018 Wed Redruth
H 16/01/2019 Wed Camborne
A 08/03/2019 Fri Redruth
H 20/02/2019 Wed Truro
500 League (Truro)
Team Captain
Robin Kneebone
Tel: 01872 858602 (h) 07531 543651 (m)
Email: chesscornwall@gmail.com
Fixtures and results
W 05/09/2018 7 - 1 Falmouth
A 02/11/2018 Fri Redruth
A 23/11/2018 Fri Camborne
H 16/01/2019 Wed Redruth
H 13/02/209 Wed Camborne
A 20/02/209 Wed Falmouth
A. W. Busby Cup
Team Captain
TBA
Tel: TBA
Email: TBA
Fixtures and results
A TBA Wed Calstock
Roger Grime Cup (U135)
Team Captain
Robin Kneebone
Tel: 01872 858602 (h) 07531 543651 (m)
Email: chesscornwall@gmail.com
Fixtures and results
A TBA Thu  Bude
About Carrick

We especially invite juniors as well as university students. Most Wednesdays our programme starts from 6.30pm with coaching and friendly games 6.35-7.20 pm, quiet practice and matches 7.30 pm onwards.

We will be organising a club championship which may be in two sections. We invite newcomers and improvers, young and not-so-young. Coaching will be provided by experienced coaches Jeremy Menadue and Robin Kneebone. There is no extra fee for this.

Membership fee £25 per year plus £3 per evening (concessions for juniors, FXU students), or £50 single payment for a whole season (concessions whole season £25).

Club brochure here

Facebook page here

For more information please contact:

Robin Kneebone 01872 858602 (h) 07531 543651 (m)
chesscornwall@gmail.com
Hugh Brown 07976 294798
hughgb76@gmail.com
Venue

Carnon Downs Village Hall is easy to find. It’s in the village: turn off the main A39 Truro to Falmouth road. The main village road is Forth Coth and Tregye Road is a turning off that. The Hall is just at the turning. Our room is the Meeting Room, on the right inside the front door. Facilities are good. There’s a free car park, and a bus stop within 50 metres (route U1 and others).

See www.carnondownsvillagehall.org/contact/


Last updated 13/10/2018

Team Competition Results
League tables
Board scores (all competitions)
Wednesday Night Calendar
2018
24/10 Shield Truro v Newquay
31/10 Roberts Truro v Camborne
31/10 Roberts Falmouth v Redruth
07/11 Roberts Falmouth v Camborne
14/11 Shield Truro v Falmouth
21/11 500 Falmouth v Redruth
28/11 No meeting
05/12 Roberts Truro v Redruth
12/12 Shield Truro v Camborne
26/12 No meeting
2019
02/01 No meeting
09/01 Shield Falmouth v Liskeard
16/01 500 Falmouth v Camborne
16/01 500 Truro v Redruth
23/01 Roberts Falmouth v Newquay
30/01    
06/02    
13/02 Roberts Truro v Calstock
13/02 500 Truro v Camborne
20/02 500 Falmouth v Truro
27/02    
06/03    
13/03    
20/03 Shield Falmouth v Truro
03/04 Shield Truro v Calstock
10/04 Roberts Falmouth v Truro
17/04    
24/04    
01/05    
08/05 Roberts Falmouth v Liskeard
08/05 Roberts Truro v Bude
15/05 Shield Falmouth v Newquay

Graded players
  JUL 2018 JAN 2019
  SP QP SP QP
Jeremy Menadue 180 180 (E)    
Grant Healey 178 173 (E)    
Mark Hassall 173 173 (E)    
Robin Kneebone 173 161    
Toby Willis 152 152 (E)    
Richard Stephens 151 164    
Adam Hussain 151 146    
Marcus Pilling 142 139    
Boris Kostadinov 117 117 (E)    
Ian Renshaw 115 98    
Bryan Jones 113 106    
Sharath Kumar 109 113 (E)    
Guy Bolton 99 99    
Sam Edwards 89 81    
Hugh Brown 87 97    
Myla Hussain 47 51    
Tamara Burgess 43 (E) 38    

Club Links